AMLDs: European Union Anti-Money Laundering Directives

The European Union (EU) establishes and regularly updates a series of Anti-Money Laundering regulatory requirements known as the Anti-Money Laundering Directives (AMLDs). These directives are mandatory for all member states, ensuring a consistent and cohesive regulatory framework across the EU to combat money laundering and terrorist financing.

The first AMLD - known as 1AMLD - was issued in 1991 and was primarily focused on financial institutions. Adjustments to the AMLD are made periodically to update and expand on the previous version, and each is identified by a number. The most recent AMLD is the sixth (6th) AMLD.

  • 1AMLD: Launched 10 June 1991 
  • 2AMLD: Released in 2001 
  • 3AMLD: 2006 
  • 4AMLD: Implementation date of 26 June 2017 
  • 5AMLD: Implementation date of 10 January 2020
  • 6AMLD: Implementation date of 3 June 2021

Other related terms:

Explore other KYC terminology in Avallone's KYC dictionary.